Its ok to hit women so long as you’re famous.

This will be short, my little girl is due to wake up soon. But I need to get this off my chest.

This weekend just gone, there was a MASSIVE, IMPORTANT, very very profitable boxing match held in Las Vegas. Floyd Mayweather and Manny Pacquiao were paid around $180m and $120m respectively to beat the shit out of each other. (Yes, that’s million. ONE HUNDRED AND EIGHTY MILLION).

Anyway, my gripe isn’t with boxing.  I appreciate the skill that is required in this sport.  Box on.  I was even quite interested in the fight and the outcome. Shame on me. It never occurred to me that by being interested, and further that by supporting (through gambling on the fight, cause guess where that money goes) these two men, as many people around the world did, we were saying ‘beating women up is OK.’

Floyd Mayweather has been convicted SEVEN times for assault against 5 different women. He has served 2 months of a 6 month (3mths suspended) sentence for beating on the mother of two of his children, while those children watched. His 10-year-old son ran for help to stop Mayweather hurting his mother.

Yet he is celebrated.  The excuses are many – that this is a separate part of his life, that he has given money to charity, that he is a champion at his sport. Yet, how does that excuse what he does in his day to day life?  Can I be a good person and then, every now and then, go strangle a puppy and use the excuse that I am ‘usually‘ good?  I make a regular donation to an animal shelter so its OK that the other day, when I was mad, I punched a 2 year old in the face. That was only one day, right?

Wrong. If anything, the fact that he is a professional fighter makes his assaults against non-professional fighters even worse. He is using his skills and training and (I assume) superior strength and fitness to inflict pain, injury and humiliation on another who cannot hope to defend themselves adequately.

To those who persist in wanting to separate the ‘man’ from the ‘boxer’, I say this: imagine how hard Mayweather can punch.  And then imagine your mothers, your wife or girlfriends, your sisters, or god forbid, your daughters face being the receiving surface of that punch.  I dare you to actually imagine it.

Feel so blase about his ‘private’ activities still?

Violence against women is nothing new and as long as we keep on supporting and celebrating men like Mayweather, it will go on being an acceptable part of our world.

Its as simple as refusing to to give money towards these guys.  Don’t promote them and admire them.  If we, as the consumer, stopped buying the product, then it would fail and be removed from the shelf.

I don’t want my daughter to be a victim of a violent assault from a man who thinks its no big deal cause the world at large seems OK with it being done by famous people.  I submit Chris Brown vs Rhianna.

I implore you all to educate yourselves and form your own opinion and stop making excuses for unprovoked and unnecessary violence.  For all our sakes.

x S

Leave a Reply

