In the words of the BEP: Let’s get ridiculooooous!

stick figure

I could write about so many things tonight. About how, this morning, I cried like a baby after I dropped my little girl at daycare because she was so upset. She just wanted to stay with me and I wouldn’t let her and it broke my heart. Or about how, mid-morning, I had a real epiphany during my therapy session and made peace with another facet of myself. Or, about how, at midday, my little baby boy decided today was the day to start crawling and what a bittersweet moment that was (last baby syndrome, come at me!).  All these things were big events in my day and meant a lot to me.

But there was another thing that happened today that I think needs to be talked about more than these moments of mine. Well, a lot of things happened today that need to be talked about more than my shit (Donald J Trump, I’m lookin’ at you, chump!) but one thing was pretty close to home and really pissed me off.

The Committee for Melbourne is “an apolitical, not-for-profit, member-based organisation that brings together over 120 organisations from Greater Melbourne’s business, academic and community sectors who have a passion for shaping Melbourne as a leading global city” – I copied that from their website. Sounds pretty good hey. Misleading.

Today, there were a lot of headlines splashing about that mentioned this group, and their latest crusade, a worthwhile battle being fought against systemic discrimination, oppression and abuse of women, by the little green and red men that live in the traffic signals at various intersections throughout Victoria.  These little green and red ‘male silhouettes’ are constantly promoting ‘unconscious bias’ against women. So the battle is on and this unbalance,this injustice, this immensely important issue is being tackled by changing some of the lights (starting with ten, on the 9th March) to non-male stick figures. This crusade even has a name.. project Equal Crossings. So it must be legitimate, right?

I thought it was a joke, but I’ve done some research and it appears real. There is actually a group of seemingly intelligent, potentially useful members of society using their influence, power and money to get a stick figure light changed to a stick figure with a triangle ‘skirt’.

Cause, obviously, there are NO other issues for women that are more worthy of their time and effort.

There aren’t women dying every week at the hands of their partners and ex-partners. There aren’t women and girls suffering horrifying abuse and assault every day at the hands of family, friends or strangers. There aren’t women denied education and basic freedom and rights based on their gender.

No – lets focus on a stick figure that I can almost guarantee 99% of people have never, ever, EVER looked at and thought any less of women in general because of.  Most people probably don’t even identify it as male, because, after all, its a goddamned coloured light stick figure.  

How does this shit even make news?  How politically correct and utterly ridiculous is the world becoming when THIS is an actual thing?  Do we not have bigger issues that, as a society, we could focus on?

How about addressing the widespread and horrific abuse of young children in many communities around Australia?  The rise and rise of domestic violence? The ever-increasing number of individuals addicted to the drug Ice?

Poverty, disease, abuse, violence. Issues to be tackled and victims to be raised and saved. If you have a yearning to make a difference, there are plenty of sad and cruel and unjust things happening every day that you could turn your energy towards, lend your heart, hands and mind, work with others and try make a change for the better.

And please don’t tell me that this petty, worthless, costly, PR stunt change is about tackling sexism at its roots….what a crock of shit. I’d love to hear from anyone who thinks that a stick figure – who, for the record, could easily be a female because **shock horror** women can wear pants!! – on a traffic light who they perceive to be male has actually promoted gender inequality…. I really would. Hit me up. I’d love to get into that discussion with you, and then we can move onto vaccinations causing Autism and other bullshit, attention grabbing, unsubstantiated politically correct hogwash talk.

Seriously.

Leave a Reply

